There are many people who end up getting hurt in some way by someone else, and the matter leads to a personal injury lawsuit. A personal injury lawsuit will occur when an individual has been harmed by another, intentionally or unintentionally, and the harm has resulted in physical, mental or emotional injuries. There are Personal Injury Lawyers in Vermont who advise and represent clients who have been injured through no fault of their own. Here are some facts that injured persons need to keep in mind about personal injury law in Vermont.
The Statute of Limitations in Vermont
When an individual decides to pursue a personal injury lawsuit, the statute of limitations for personal injuries in Vermont is three years from the date of the accident and injury. If the injured individual fails to file the lawsuit in a Vermont civil court in that time frame, any opportunity for the lawsuit to be heard will be gone, as well as the opportunity to be awarded damages. If the injury should happen to be the fault of a Vermont governmental agency or its employee, the injured party has three years to file a formal claim against the government.
The Shared Fault Rule in Vermont
The injured party should realize that the opposite party can claim that the injured party was partly at fault for what happened or what caused the accident. If it is found that the injured party is 50 percent or more at fault, no damages will be able to be claimed or awarded. Anything less than 50 percent, the injured party can collect damages based on the percent found at fault.
Getting an Attorney to Help with the Personal Injury Case
The person filing the personal injury obviously will end up getting nothing for the injury caused, so it is best to secure an attorney. McVeigh Skiff LLP is a law firm in the Burlington, Vermont area that represents clients who have personal injuries that they want to litigate. If any parties are in need of help from Personal Injury Lawyers in Vermont, the law firm can be reached at the website, Website URL.