Pin It
no comments

Reviewing Penalties with a DUI Defense Attorney in Lancaster County, PA

In Pennsylvania, the total number of convictions defines the penalties incurred by the defendant. A conviction is possible if the driver has a blood-alcohol content reading of at least 0.08 percent. A DUI defense attorney in Lancaster County, PA provides a defense for drivers who are charged with the offense.

The First Three Convictions

The first offense leads to a fine of $300 and no driver’s license suspension. The second offense incurs a sentence between five days and six months in jail. The fine ranges between $300 and $2,500. The license is suspended for one year. Next, the third conviction incurs a sentence ranging between ten days and two years. The fines range between $500 and $5,000. The driver’s license is suspended for one year. All DUI convictions require the driver to install an ignition interlocking device.

How Long Is the Look-Back Period and How Does It Work?

The look-back period for Pennsylvania is ten years. If the defendant is convicted of a new charge, the court looks through their records for the last ten years. The conviction is based on the total number of prior convictions within the ten-year period.

What Are the Penalties for Refusing to Submit to Testing?

The first offense incurs a driver’s license suspension of one year. The second and third conviction lead to an eighteen-month driver’s license suspension. The conviction is based on the implied consent ruling, which gives law enforcement the right to demand chemical testing. The driver’s choice to drive after drinking implies that they give law enforcement their consent for testing.

What Is SR-22?

SR-22 is a certificate that is purchased to prove that the driver has maintained auto insurance coverage. The court requires an annual payment for the certificate that is based on the total number of convictions.

In Pennsylvania, the court imposes penalties based on the defendant’s record. Their record is reviewed according to the requirements of the look-back period. The blood-alcohol content reading defines if the driver is guilty of a standard or aggravated DUI charge. Fines, jail sentences, and driver’s license suspensions are all probable penalties for a DUI. Defendants facing a conviction should contact a DUI defense attorney in Lancaster County, PA through the Law Office of Melissa R. Montgomery today.