In West Virginia, all drivers must comply with laws that apply to driving while intoxicated. These laws prohibit any driver to operate an automobile of an otherwise motorized vehicle after they have been drinking. According to these laws, any driver who has a blood-alcohol content reading of at least 0.08 percent is guilty of DWI. A DWI Lawyer in Charleston can build an effective defense for this infraction.
What Penalties Are Imposed for First Offenses?
The first offense could lead to a maximum jail sentence of six months and fines ranging between $100 and $1,000. The driver’s license is suspended for a period that begins at fifteen days and could range up to forty-five days. The ignition interlocking device may not be assigned with this defense. However, if the driver has a blood-alcohol reading that exceeds 0.15 percent, it is probable.
What Are the Penalties for Second Offenses?
The second offense incurs a jail sentence ranging between six months and one year, as well as fines of $1,000 to $3,000. The driver’s license is suspended for a period of no less than one year. The ignition interlocking device is mandatory for any additional DUI or DWI conviction.
What Are the Penalties for Third Offenses?
The third offense leads to a jail sentence of at least one year and could range up to three years. The fines for these convictions begin at $3,000 and range up to $5,000. The driver’s license suspension lasts for one year, and the court will require an ignition interlocking device. A West Virginia DUI Lawyer could provide further clarity about possible penalties.
What Is a Look Back Period?
A look back period is the duration in which the court may search to find previous convictions. For the state of West Virginia, the look back period is ten years. However, if the driver is convicted of aggravated DUI, the court may impose stricter penalties with a history of these convictions.
In West Virginia, drivers must adhere to all driving laws, especially DUI and DWI laws. These laws indicate guilty according to the blood-alcohol reading established. Any who is charged with these offenses should contact a DWI lawyer in Charleston for assistance now.